Everything Will be Fine

For the past few weeks I’ve been “disconnected” from the blog for two reason: 1) my husband’s grandmother came to town to visit and I wanted to spend quality time with the family (no interruptions!), and 2) I had one wisdom tooth extracted and recovery took my energy way. But now I’m back- fully recovered and back to our routine.

Like I’ve stated before, we avoid having Penny’s allergens at home, but two weeks ago I bought cow’s milk for my hubby’s grandmother (Mamá Maggie, as my kids lovingly call her). Her house is not allergy-friendly, and why should it be? We don’t visit because she lives cross-country and neither she nor anyone around her has food allergies. And even though she is very understanding and careful about Penny’s allergy, I wanted to have something in the house for her morning coffee…Penny will be going to preschool pretty soon and I need to accept the fact that she is not living in an allergy-friendly world. Sure, I make “our world” allergy-friendly and easier, but that’s not the reality once we go out of the house. We did manage to avoid peanuts and tree nuts, and because we were very careful, reactions were avoided as well. Also, Penny understood that she couldn’t touch the cow’s milk and wouldn’t even go near it. This gives me a lot of confidence, for now I know that she is learning what she can and cannot eat.

Mamá Maggie enjoyed our allergy-friendly homemade baked goods, and she even dared to try Sunbutter and Soy Nut butter. She told me that she enjoyed so much some of our allergy-friendly products, that she will be buying them for herself. Also, she altered some recipes while she was here so they were allergy-friendly and we could all eat the same thing.

I am eternally grateful for Mamá Maggie’s thoughtfulness about Food Allergies- she even thought about them when we were looking for restaurants. I understand that this is something that might not be easy for someone that hasn’t experienced food allergies closely and that is used to not avoiding any allergens… Again, THANK YOU! Things simple as these make me a happier person.

I recently read an article in the Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Connection Team (FAACT) webpage about the “Psychological Impact for Families Living with Food Allergy” and it stated that, “Children with more than two food allergies and their parents report poor quality of life”. This is our case; Penny is allergic to dairy, peanuts and needs to avoid most tree nuts. Honestly, I can say that Food Allergies are overall overwhelming, and create a great deal of anxiety for me. I decided to stay home instead of working because of Food Allergies, and it is almost impossible for me to trust anyone to take care of my “food allergic” daughter. I even get anxious leaving her with her dad (I know!). After two years, I can say that I am slowly learning to take deep breaths and “let go”. So, two weeks ago, when I had a wisdom tooth extraction and had to rest a lot for 2-3 days, I was “forced” to let others watch Penny. In this case, Mamá Maggie and my husband took care of her. Guess what? Penny didn’t have a single reaction and the world didn’t come to an end. I am grateful for this experience, now I know that everything will be fine. For now, baby steps until I get there!

I still have a lot to learn in this journey, but with understanding, awareness, education and most importantly SUPPORT, we will be fine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

