Small Victories

You might remember a post I published a couple of months ago called “Walk a Mile in my Shoes”. In it I explained what I go through with Penny (and her food allergies!) when I drop Paulo off at his ballet class. After that “incident” I knew that something had to be done.  That day, I felt allergens were something unavoidable, they were pretty much everywhere. So, next time I went to drop Paulo off at ballet class, I asked to talk to the program manager. She explained that we were in a peanut-free facility and it has a designated eating area. However, I told her that there were no signs anywhere explaining that, so there was no way people knew about it. I told her how I have walked in some days finding myself seating next to someone eating a bag of peanuts and consequently panicking at the thought of Penny experiencing an anaphylactic shock. She completely understood since she also has food allergies. After a long talk, she agreed to put up signs on the walls that specify that people are not allowed to bring peanut/tree nut products in the building.

IMG_0517_2

A week after the signs were up on the walls someone took them down… It is still hard for me to understand how refraining from eating peanuts in a limited interval of time can be something so inconvenient. I can’t understand how people believe that they have the right to eat peanuts. Eating peanuts is a choice. My daughter’s allergies aren’t a choice. She can’t decide if she will have an allergic reaction. It just happens… Anyway, I went back to the administration office. Again, the signs were put up on the walls. Up to this day, they’re still there. People don’t always follow the rule of eating in the designated area, but, guess what? I can always remind them. Small victories like this one will help us create awareness.

I am going to continue advocating for my child’s food allergies, after all, I am protecting her life. If we let others know what we go through, we can, maybe, cultivate some empathy and awareness, one person at a time.

 

Leave a Reply

