Double Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Frosting

IMG_0627

Ingredients:

Cake

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. distilled white vinegar
  • 1 cup non-dairy milk. I used soy milk.
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ¼ cup cocoa powder
  • 1 ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup Enjoy Life Semi-Sweet Chocolate Mini Chips

Frosting

 

Directions:

Cake

  • Preheat oven to 350°F.
  • Grease one 9X5 pan. I like to use Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks to grease the pan.
  • In a bowl, mix together the oil, vanilla extract, vinegar and soy milk. Add the sugar, salt, baking soda, baking powder and flour to the liquid mix. Mix until well blended.
  • Finally add the mini chocolate chips and mix well.
  • Pour the cake batter in the 9X5 pan.
  • Place a baking pan filled with water on the bottom rack of the oven. This will keep the cake moist after baking.
  • Place the pan that has the cake batter right on top of the pan that has water.
  • Bake for 43 mins.
  • Let it cool for about an hour.

Frosting:

  • In a bowl, mix buttery spread*, cream cheese and vanilla extract. Add the cocoa powder and confectioners’ sugar. Mix on a high speed for about 8-10 mins.
  • Cover and put it in the refrigerator for about an hour.
  • Frost the cake.
  • Keep refrigerated until served.

Enjoy!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Frosting

  1. Funny question: are those candles from the Dollar Tree? I just bought some like the ones shown above and they melted before I could get the cake to the table! I made a cake from a huge slice of watermelon–which was really fun and allergen free. I have another chance for my daughter’s birthday coming up and want to use that style of candle again. Can you share your candle secrets?

    Keep up the good work on the blog!

    Like

    • No, they are not from the Dollar Tree. I can’t remember which grocery store I bought them at, but they were pretty good- I used them for my birthday and then for my son’s birthday. As soon as I can remember the brand, I will let you know. Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

